Series Report: Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Posted October 2, 2020 by Angie in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Ghostbusters, but make it fashion!

Seriously, everybody, this trilogy is so much fun and the covers are actually representative of the contents. Eleanor is a society lady who goes to balls but she also gets tangled up in the occult. She discovers that she’s a necromancer and teams up with the Spirit Hunters, who fight the living dead. Or at least the dead who have been risen by another corrupt necromancer set on gaining more power and wealth. Eleanor has to learn how to control her powers while not being corrupted by them along the way. Of course, there’s also a romance, but…it doesn’t turn out how you think! I was shocked! It’s been a long time since I was genuinely surprised by a series ending.

There’s ghosts, zombies, MUMMIES, black magic, seances, kissing, sword fights, explosions, airships, demons, betrayal, and lots and lots of excitement! And pretty dresses. Duh.

About Each Book:

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase after clicking those links, I will receive a small commission from the sale at no extra cost to you.

Series Report: Something Strange and Deadly by Susan DennardSomething Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly, #1) by Susan Dennard
Published by Harper Teen on July 24, 2012
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Paranormal, Historical
Format: Hardcover (388 pages)
Source: Library
Purchase: AmazonIndieBound
Add Book: GoodreadsBookhype

There's something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia. . . .

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about.

Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she's just read in the newspaper:

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor . . . from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she'll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including the maddeningly stubborn yet handsome Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance.

four-stars

Series Report: Something Strange and Deadly by Susan DennardA Darkness Strage and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly, ) by Susan Dennard
Published by Harper Teen on July 23, 2013
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Paranormal, Historical
Format: Hardcover (408 pages)
Source: Library
Purchase: AmazonIndieBound
Add Book: GoodreadsBookhype

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners and Cassandra Clare's The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she'll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there's a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there's a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

four-stars

Series Report: Something Strange and Deadly by Susan DennardStrange and Ever After (Something Strange and Deadly, ) by Susan Dennard
Published by Harper Teen on July 22, 2014
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Paranormal, Historical
Format: Hardcover (392 pages)
Source: Library
Purchase: AmazonIndieBound
Add Book: GoodreadsBookhype

In the conclusion to the trilogy that Publishers Weekly called “a roaring—and addictive—gothic world,” Eleanor Fitt must control her growing power, face her feelings for Daniel, and confront the evil necromancer Marcus...all before it’s too late.

With supernatural forces, epic romance, and a mysterious Egyptian city, Eleanor and her team are set for an adventure they will never forget.

It has been a tumultuous time for Eleanor Fitt since life as she knew it in Philadelphia came abruptly to an end. Although the Spirit-Hunters Joseph, Jie, and Daniel have helped her survive, Eleanor has lost just about everything.

And now, Jie is missing taken by the evil necromancer Marcus. Eleanor is determined not only to get her back but to finally end this nightmare. To do so, she must navigate the hot desert streets of nineteenth-century Egypt amid the rising Dead, her unresolved feelings for Daniel, and her volatile relationships with Joseph and Oliver, her demon. And it won't be easy. Because Allison, her friend from Philadelphia, has tagged along, becoming strangely entangled in Eleanor's mission.

It will take all of Eleanor's powers of black magic, and all of Daniel's and Joseph's trust, to succeed. But there will be a price.

four-stars

Sharing is caring!

Tags: , , , , ,


Leave a Reply