Review: Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

Posted October 11, 2021 by Angie in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase after clicking those links, I will receive a small commission from the sale at no extra cost to you.

Review: Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina LaurenTwice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren
Published by Gallery Books on October 22, 2019
Genres: Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Romance
Format: eBook (366 pages)
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Purchase: AmazonIndieBound
Add Book: GoodreadsBookhype

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it…

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

three-stars

Proceed With Caution:

This book has mentions of car accidents, miscarriage, and death.

The Basics:

Twice in a Blue Moon is the second Women’s Fiction novel I’ve picked up by this author. It’s focused on 32 year old Tate, who is an actress gaining notoriety. Her latest film is her first big starring role, the first movie she’s done with her superstar father, and she’s unexpectedly reunited with the boy who stole her heart and betrayed her at 18.

My Thoughts:

I enjoyed Twice in a Blue Moon, but not as much as Love and Other Words. It was missing that cute-factor and was quieter in the drama department. If that’s more your speed, then I’m sure you’ll love it. The first quarter or so follows Tate and Sam around London, where the two met while on vacation with their grandparents. The two spend nearly all of their time together, and Sam is the first person–other than her BFF–who Tate opens up to about her past and her family. He’s also her first love. Then Sam disappears and is replaced with a mob of paparazzi and reporters who have now found Hollywood’s missing daughter.

Twice in a Blue Moon gives us a behind the scenes look into the film industry. It’s not glamorous by any means, but Tate does have to deal with a publicity nightmare as a teenager and is thrust into the spotlight. She wanted to be an actress, so it all works out for her in the end, but she learned a hard lesson about trust. Needless to say, she’s pretty closed off now as an adult. She’s hoping to finally build a real relationship with her father on set, but she’s distracted by Sam’s presence. What he did to her was crappy and she hasn’t forgiven or forgotten.

I totally guessed why Sam did what he did. It’s revealed pretty early on, so there was really nothing to keep me reading. I had no idea where Twice in Blue Moon was going after that. I also found it unbelievable that Tate never once came up with this reason herself over the past fourteen years. It seemed obvious. Of course, it doesn’t excuse what he did at all. But I did appreciate that Sam was honest and said that he’d do it all again, no regrets. He did what was best for him and his family at that time, and I don’t even blame him.

In the end, Twice in a Blue Moon was pretty good. I got through it pretty quickly, despite it being a rather slow paced novel. There’s no big drama. I mean, something does come up at the end, but nothing comes of it. Tate has already made up her mind at that point.

Sharing is caring!

Tags: , ,


[convertkit form=2051772]

Leave a Reply