Mini Review: She Drives Me Crazy by Kelly Quindlen

Posted April 30, 2021 by Angie in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase after clicking those links, I will receive a small commission from the sale at no extra cost to you.

Mini Review: She Drives Me Crazy by Kelly QuindlenShe Drives Me Crazy by Kelly Quindlen
Published by Roaring Brook Press on April 20, 2021
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, LGBTQ
Format: eBook (298 pages)
Source: Library
Purchase: AmazonIndieBound
Add Book: GoodreadsBookhype

High school nemeses fall in love in this queer YA rom com perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuisten.

After losing spectacularly to her ex-girlfriend in their first game since their break up, Scottie Zajac gets into a fender bender with the worst possible person: her nemesis, the incredibly beautiful and incredibly mean Irene Abraham. Things only get worse when their nosey, do-gooder moms get involved and the girls are forced to carpool together until Irene’s car gets out of the shop.

Their bumpy start the only gets bumpier the more time they spend together. But when an opportunity presents itself for Scottie to get back at her toxic ex (and climb her school’s social ladder at the same time), she bribes Irene into playing along. Hijinks, heartbreak, and gay fake-dating scheme for the ages. From author Kelly Quindlen comes a new laugh-out-loud romp through the ups and downs of teen romance.

four-stars

She Drives Me Crazy is chock-full of nearly every teen movie cliche ever written and it works! It’s actually extremely self-aware, with the characters mentioning how this is “real life” and not some ’80s film. It’s just a whole lot of fun and happiness! Plus, fake dating is my all-time favorite Romance trope and it works especially well here. Scottie is on the basketball team, but no one comes to see them. At least until she gets into a minor car accident with head cheerleader, Irene, and starts carpooling. Now Irene shows up to practice with her squad in tow and the girls finally have someone to put on a show for. Thus giving Scottie a genius idea…

There’s actually a lot going on in She Drives Me Crazy, but it was never too much or disjointed. We’ve got Scottie trying to make her ex-girlfriend jealous by dating Irene. She’s also trying to boost morale of the girls’ basketball team by having the cheerleaders show up to their games instead of just pretending they don’t exist. Of course, there’s also the budding real relationship between Irene and Scottie. Irene also has her own issues going on, which I very much enjoyed, and I loved how she would call Scottie out on her crap, particularly for making assumptions about her. Also acknowledging cheerleading as a real sport. Lots of good stuff! Oh, and Scottie’s family is absolutely adorable. As is Irene’s BFF, Honey Belle whom I could not get enough of!

Honestly, She Drives Me Crazy is adorable fluffy goodness. There’s drama, but it’s not like…dramatic. Nothing is over-the-top, except maybe the uber cheesy ending, but it was suppose to be! And it works! It’s just a feel good read.

Sharing is caring!

Tags: , , , ,


Leave a Reply